Sonoma County Medical Association Alliance Foundation


Physician families connecting to create a healthier Sonoma County by improving the lives of those in need

President's Letter

January, 2018

2017: A year in the Rearview Mirror

Dear Alliance Members,

For most of us, the memories of 2017 will condense down to a week in October when so many lives changed, and all were affected. We may be fatigued by repetitive stories of the fires, and the temptation to put this behind us is great. But, for our friends and neighbors who lost their homes, this experience and the recovery is ongoing.

Your Alliance board recognizes this. We’ve prioritized the needs of our membership and the physician population in Sonoma County for the remainder of the year. Here are some things that we have done, and things we plan to do in the next several months:

Wine Country Fire Relief:

Many generous donors across the country have contributed to this fund of nearly $15,000. Our inaugural committee meeting is Wednesday, January 31 to discuss disbursement of these funds to our community. If you are interested in participating in this effort, please contact me at, 707-799-8427.

Free SCMA Alliance Memberships are offered to Physician Fire Families:

In November, the Board coordinated with the CMAA to offerfree memberships to any Sonoma County physician spouse who lost their home in the October fires. If you have friends who are going through this, please encourage them to join our community. We’re here for all physician families. You can download our brochure and send it to your physician friends and associates who have lost their homes.

Monthly Informal Social Events:

Fellowship with peers and friends can be the most healing activity for those who have gone through loss. With that in mind, the Alliance’s first Pub Night was Friday, January 19. Over 30 Alliance members and spouses attended. The board plans to hold an event like this one evening every month to encourage members, spouses and friends to come together. We understand that not everyone can make some of our one-of-a-kind events. Pub Nights are something you can decide to attend last minute, with the knowledge that, if you miss this one, there’s one next month. We’ll even buy the first round! February's Pub Night is at Bear River Republic on the 12th. Details here.

Other Scheduled Events for members, couples and families:

Beginning with a February lunch at Pamposh (see story above), we’ll be offering regular social and informative events. In March, watch the calendar for a couple’s event. In April, we’ll present a “Disaster Preparedness” seminar to discuss how best to preserve information about important documents in your home in case of an emergency. We’re also planning family events in April and May, perhaps to include an afternoon at Epicenter in Santa Rosa.

Our most valuable asset of the Alliance is our own members. We’re looking forward to investing in all of you as we move through the remainder of the year.


Patty Lyn Tweten, SCMAA President

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software